Mermaid Melody Monday: Charlotte Church “Carrickfergus”

Hello Bubblers,

Welcome to a new addition to the blog, Mermaid Melody Mondays! Every Monday at noon, I will post a video of a song that to me sounds perfect for a Mer playlist. Keep following along, and build up your mer-song collection! Also, have suggestions? Comment below, and share some music with me.

Who is this Singer?: Charlotte Church is a Welsh singer, whose career started very young. Her operatic voice hit the soundwaves before she was even 7 years old. She is still active now (in her 20s/early 30s), but her style has changed from THIS to a more “pop-like” sound. This song comes from her Enchantment album.

Why this song: The song tells of a beautiful land. It is an Irish folk song. It’s composition lends to the wistful, wishful, whimsical feeling of floating and basking in the sun. You can almost feel the gentle sea breeze, almost hear it playing across the lush green grass and the rocks. But it is also tinged with sadness: the singer is desiring to return to the home that she no longer resides near, and at this home, she left behind some kind of love. It reminds me of the Little Mermaid, and what Ariel may have sung while she was sitting on her rock, looking at the palace. “I would swim over the deepest ocean for my true love to be with me.” Plus, her voice sounds like a mermaids would in my mind.

I definitely would put this on my list of songs to swim to.

Check out the rest of Enchanted as well, it’s chock full of musical loveliness. Or you could just wait here, patiently, for some other MerMusic coming your way.

Swim on, my lovely bubbles.
XOXO,
JV

Leave a Reply

